Freshly Made Sketches #43 with Mo Manning

A new week, another challenge:)  This card is for the Freshly Made Sketches, #43.  My image this week is from Mo Manning, at Mo’s Digital Pencil.  Believe it or not, I DID color this image myself! 🙂   Yes, I pulled out my Stampin’ Up! ink refill bottles and went to work with my Aqua Painter.  I’ll tell you how I did that in a minute;)  First, here is the sketch for this week:

My computer was down all day Tuesday:(  I had my image all colored and I had a different layout ready to work with….then my computer popped back on Wednesday and I found this sketch:)  This sketch worked much better for me, how lucky was that?  I wanted my image to be kinda big, so it wouldn’t be too difficult to color.  Yes, you all know by now I don’t color very well:(  As a matter of fact, Mo had this image colored as a sample, I just copied it, the colors I mean, not the card;)  I love the colors and they translate well into Stampin’ Up!  So here is my card, you can click on it to make it larger:

Isn’t it just the cutest Cheshire Cat?!  I only had to color about 8 images before I was satisfied!  Now onto how I did it.  I work on a glass mat for all my cardmaking.  I took a bottle of Melon Mambo and put 1 drop onto the glass mat.  I squeezed out some water from my Aqua Painter and mixed it up.  Full strength would be too dark!  I colored the Melon Mambo first and then the Pumpkin Pie. I did the branch last with Chocolate Chip the same way.  For the Wild Wasabi, I used a stamp pad and just tapped it a few times onto my mat and added water. It’s so simple:) And it all cleans up with a paper towel and a little more water;)

I tried to work carefully and slowly, but even still, I kept getting pink in the orange or the other way around:(  And the teeth, oh my, trying to keep the teeth from being Pumpkin Pie colored was difficult.  I had started with some smaller images and then just enlarged them. LOL  I know, it’s a simple image, but I’m very picky, that’s one of the reasons I don’t color often.

Sorry, I seem to be a bit chatty today:(  Anyway…..I will have a full list of supplies below.

Thanks for stopping by to take a look at my card:)  I hope you all have a great week!

Supplies

Stampin’ Up!

Stamps-Warm Words (retired)

Paper-Wild Wasabi, Chocolate Chip, Pumpkin Pie, Designer Series Paper-Patterns Stack-Brights Collection, Pumpkin Pie Stripe, and Melon Mambo Dotted

Ink-Pumpkin Pie, Melon Mambo, Wild Wasabi, Chocolate Chip

Misc-Stampin’ Dimensionals, Tombow (green) glue, Stamp-a-ma-jig (for sentiment placement)

Other Supplies

Digital Image from Mo’s Digital Pencil

 

9 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Freshly Made, Mo Manning, Stampin' Up!

9 responses to “Freshly Made Sketches #43 with Mo Manning

  1. Holly

    one of my favorite movies and characters. so cute, Jan!

  2. Great card! Love all that colouring…you did a fabulous job!!! Great choice on colours as well! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

  3. robyncockburn

    I LOVE the colours in this and the cheshire cat is just gorgeous! Beautiful job on the colouring – now you’ll have to do more!

  4. Great card Janet Kay! I think you did a great job with the coloring! I love the colors! Thanks for playing with us at Freshly Made Sketches!

  5. Wow … this is awesome Janet Kay … love that cheshire cat – you’ve coloured him fabulously ….love the bright and fresh colour pallette!
    Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!!!

  6. Wow! Great card. Love you cheshire cat, the coloring and the papers you chose. Thanks for playing with Freshly Made Sketches this week!

  7. All your effort was worth it! Great card! Thanks for playing with us at Freshly Made Sketches!

  8. I think this kitty is soooooo cute! is he the Cheshire cat? I think your coloring was very good on him Janet. When I teach my Copic classes, I always tell my girls to practice, practice, practice. I am a firm believer that is the key to any coloring. Keep up the great work!
    Hugs,
    Maureen

Leave a Reply

