Merry Monday #52

I’ve had a very busy week!  I am so behind:(  So here we go……today I have a card for Merry Monday #52. This week they had a color challenge, these are quite often hard for me.  Being a traditional kind of card maker, I tried to use the colors in almost equal parts.  I’m not sure if that’s a good thing, you’ll have to let me know what you think;)

Here’s the challenge colors:

52I have to say, River Rock has never been one of my favorite colors…..too yellowish.  I took a photo with my usual Crumb Cake background and it looked…..not nice:(  So I changed it out to a white background and I think it looks better:)

Half-fold Card2Hmmm, my ribbons always look crooked in photos, but it looks fine sitting here on my desk.  ???  Oh, well,  I love this card! 🙂  My flower image was printed out from Fred, She Said, Pointy Poinsettia Flowers.  Now here is a shocker!  Look close, I watercolored Fred’s black and white image!  A lot of you know that I usually get the precolored versions, but today, I used my Stampin’ Up! ink refills and my watercolor pen!

I bet some of you thought I couldn’t color at all!  While it’s true I prefer not to color, I can do it when I feel I need to:)  It just doesn’t happen very often;)  lol

I accidentally painted my first flower with Real Red, and had to make a second one!  So I actually painted two Poinsettias!  I’m going to make a second card with the other flower:)

Most of my supplies are Stampin’ Up!  I used the specified color cardstock.  The ribbon on the other side has white spots. I used a Stampin’ Up! antique brad for the flower center, and my SU Petals a plenty embossing folder.  I used a Spellbinders Shapeabilities Fancy Tags die, with an SU Oval Punch and a SU rubber stamp from the Many Merry Messages set.

I printed my Fred, She Said image directly onto watercolor paper, painted the flower petals and then cut them out.  The petals are popped up with small sticky dots.

Thanks for coming by today!  I hope to see you again soon, I still have some cards for this week:)

JanetKay_Poinsettia

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Always Playing With Paper, Challenges, Christmas, Fred She Said, Merry Monday, Stampin' Up!

7 responses to “Merry Monday #52

  1. robyncockburn

    Gorgeous card! I do like poinsettias on Christmas cards!! You’ve made the colour scheme look rich and balanced at the same time. Really should do your colouring more often – it’s great!

  2. You did a great job coloring, Janet Kay! I’ll bet the Real Red flower is just as pretty! This is a great layout and a beautiful Christmas card! Thanks for sharing it with us at Merry Monday!

  3. I love the poinsettias and the embossed background. Thanks for joining us at Merry Monday this week.

  4. Wonderful card Janet Kay, your poinsettia is lovely. Thank you for joining us this week for Merry Monday

  5. Very pretty card. Love your poinsettia.

  6. Gorgeous card, Janet! I love your poinsettia and all the wonderful texture!

  7. Your card is stunning Janet! I love the digital poinsettia and all of your embossing, wow!

Leave a Reply

