Freshly Made Sketches # 79

HAPPY EASTER!!

That was just my greeting, I don’t have an Easter card to show you.  Today, I have a card for the challenge over at Freshly Made Sketches, #79.  A great sketch and wonderful cards, so please be sure and pop over there!  Here is the sketch:

FMS Final 79-001It looks so simple, but it can really be dressed up:)  Here is my card:

Half-fold Card4aWow is all I can say, beautiful image and my two favorite colors, I also love butterflies!   It did take longer that I thought it would, I cut my image into all kinds of shapes before deciding on the Spellbinders Oval.

My pre-colored digital image is from the Fred She Said store.  This is one of Tracey’s newer images, that I haven’t had time to play with, Marigolds & Morpho SETS.  You can pop over here to Tracey’s blog and see what’s in the set.  The un-colored version is it’s own set.

I used Stampin’ Up! Pacific Point and Daffodil Delight for my cardstock and paper.  I also used some SU white ribbon that I dyed Garden Green.  I don’t think I let it sit long enough because I don’t think it’s dark enough:(  I used a discontinued SU punch for the white strip, and a misc ribbon slider of unknown origin;)

A little tip for you:)  I used to have so much trouble trying to make my punches come out right!  I didn’t see anyone post this, I just figured it out.

Half-fold Card5Instead of one long strip, I cut two smaller strips.  Once I covered it with my image you can’t tell, but the ends are perfect.  I cut one using the left side of the punch and one using the right side of the punch.  I found that the longer the strip I made, the more likely I was to not line up the paper right, or I would double punch and the image wasn’t perfect. And then of course, you ended up cutting the strip in an unattractive place, oh no!  I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner!

Thanks for coming by today! 🙂  I hope you can use my tip sometime:)  Be back again soon with another card:)

JanetKay_SpringBoxBut

3 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Fred She Said, Freshly Made, Stampin' Up!

3 responses to “Freshly Made Sketches # 79

  1. Beautifully colored! And great tip about the punched edge! Thanks for joining us at FMS!

  2. Beautiful card Janet Kay! That butterfly and those flowers are fabulous! Love those bright, cheery colours! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

  3. robyncockburn

    Gorgeous card. Love your colour scheme. 🙂

Leave a Reply

