Merry Monday #63

I’m sorry to have been missing so long:(  I have been taking care of my two granddaughters, 6 & 8, plus my grandson, just turned two, and on top of all that, I’ve been sick! 😦   Ok, whining is over:)  Now on to a couple of cards…..   First I have my card for this weeks challenge over at Merry Monday #63.  I have missed several weeks there:(  But I have two cards to show you so keep scrolling;)

Here is the sketch this week from Merry Monday, you still have plenty of time to play along:)

Sketch #63-May 20Here is my card:

Half-fold Card1I used all Stampin’ Up! products, except where noted.  The very back is Very Vanilla, on top of that is Real Red, then Designer Series Paper (DSP) Candlelight Christmas (retired) from last years Christmas catalog.  Real Red again, topped with Very Vanilla that I printed with My Digital Studio.

First I made the entire background Very Vanila, then I added my digital stamp from Winter Post (retired) colored Real Red.  I also added the digital skating pair from the Winter Post, I wanted to have the same Very Vanilla background and I added Early Espresso as the color.  I then stamped the words with a clear rubber stamp from the French Foliage set in Early Espresso.

I cut the couple out using my Spellbinder plain circles and scallop circle sets.  The bottom circle is Early Espresso, topped with Lucky Limeade ( I know, strange Christmas color choice, but it matches the paper) and then the skating pair are popped up .  I finished it off with two pretty gems that I found in my stash, probably from Michaels craft store.

I know, a lot of steps, but none of them really hard;)

My second card was made for last weeks Merry Monday, but I didn’t submit it on time:(  You get to see it anyway:)  Here is the sketch that was last weeks:

Sketch #62-May 13And here is the card I made:

Half-fold Card2This card was for Merry Monday #62.  I will be saving this card and sending it on with other cards for Christmas to Send A Smile 4 Kids.  This is a charity to send handmade cards to children in hospitals.  I have a link on the left side of my blog.  They have a challenge blog with digital prizes, if you’re interested, or just make and send cards:)

My very cute, pre-colored, digital image is from Fred She Said, Naughty or Nice Elf. The paper is also FSS and can be found in the Christmas Poinsettia Packs: RED and/or BLUE.  Of course, it also has some wonderful Poinsettias;)  The Naughty or Nice set also includes some sentiments.

I started with white cardstock as my background, I love white backgrounds:)  On top of that is Stampin’ Up! Real Red, more white and then the FSS green dotted paper, which I print with my printer and then cut out to layer.  I also printed the little Elf and cut with a Spellbinder circle die, the black behind her I cut by hand.  The Elf is also popped up.  I printed my sentiment (all of my FSS images and sentiments were printed on the same sheet of paper), and mounted it on SU Basic Black.  I finished this card off with 3 sparkly gold brads.

This card had less steps, so I guess this one is the Simply Made one;)

Fred She Said will be having a blog hop May 31st, with prizes! 🙂  If you would like to receive a notice, hop over to the Fred She Said blog, you can sign up for the newsletters and be one of the first to know about new images and contests! 🙂

Thanks for coming by today:)  Hope to see you soon!

JanetKay_Poinsettia

12 Comments

Filed under Always Playing With Paper, Challenges, Christmas, Fred She Said, Merry Monday, Send a smile 4 kids, Stampin' Up!

12 responses to “Merry Monday #63

  1. robyncockburn

    Good to see you’re back doing some cards! Both of these are lovely. Clever use of the post mark on the first one. Gorgeous rich colours in the second.

  2. Very pretty card Janet Kay, hope you are feeling better. Thank you for joining us for Merry Monday.

  3. Marisa

    Loving them both!! Well done with each orientation. Love the post card theme on the first and that cute image on the second. Thanks for joining us at Merry Monday this week 🙂

  4. Grandchildren are wonderful, but they do make it hard to craft! Glad you’re back with us! The first card is amazing done with MDS! Love the skaters! And I’m so glad you shared last week’s card. What a wonderful, fun Christmas card! Thanks for sharing them with us at Merry Monday!

  5. Hope that you’re are on the mend!! Love that you went back and played along with last week’s sketch Janet; you are awesome! Both cards are great and I am so happy to see you back! This week’s card is very creative, love how you used the stamps! Thanks for joining us at Merry Monday!
    Hugs,
    Lesley

  6. What wonderful cards you created with both of the sketches. Thanks for joining us at Merry Monday.

  7. Fun card, love the post card look! Thanks for playing with us at Merry Monday!

  8. These are super cute….one of my favorite vintage SU images, and an adorable pre-colored image!!!! Thanks for playing with the Merry Monday challenge!

  9. tenianelson

    Both cards are wonderful!!! Thanks for playing along with us at Merry Monday!!

  10. Adorable cards Janet, love how did the digital work on both of them. Thanks for joining us at Merry Monday this week.

  11. Glad to hear your on the mend. Love both cards, Janet!!!!!! So adorable!!
    Thanks for playing along with us this week over at Merry Mondays! 🙂

  12. Pingback: Fred She Said blog hop, Sale and an honorable mention | Simply Made Cards

Leave a Reply

