Friday Mashup #119 with cards for Send A Smile 4 Kids

OMGoodness, three hours of quiet tonight!!:)  Kids all went to bed early and I started making cards! 🙂  I made two today and they will both be going into the box for Send A Smile 4 Kids! 🙂  I’ve already entered their challenge, they run for two weeks, so you have plenty of time to enter for a chance to win some nice digital prizes:)  This time the theme is Christmas in July.

So today’s cards are not Christmas, but I think they’re pretty cute.  If you check out the Send A Smile 4 Kids challenge, I was the first to enter! 🙂  I will be entering these two cards in the challenge over at the Friday Mashup #119.

Here’s your Mashup Challenge:
  1. Create a project using the “Sketch”.
  2. Create a project with a “Favorite New Stamp Set”.
  3. Or Mash it Up and create a project “using the Sketch with your Favorite NEW Stamp Set”.

Here is their sketch for this week:

fm119Here are my cards, I used the sketch and my favorite NEW digital stamps:

Half-fold Card4Half-fold Card5If you click on them to make them larger, you can see the Yellow Brick Road;)  Now hold on to your hats, I have lots of info to share!

First off, the “glitter” paper is actually digital “glitter” paper from Sassy Designs.  I’ve never tried digital glitter paper before, because I thought it would look too fake.  Of course it’s not like real glitter paper, but it looks kinda cool, AND it suited my purpose for these two cards;)  I cut the arrows out of the paper, I wouldn’t be able to do that if it was thick glitter paper.  Here is what the first step looks like:

Half-fold Card1Onto my second step:

Half-fold Card2The first step is the front after cutting.  Here is a photo of the back and the template I used to make my arrows.  The template is from POP-UPs Etc.  On the lower left there is a link for FOLD-em templates, I used #2 here.  And here is what I did:

Half-fold Card3I used my template and cut my arrows with my special knife I bought with the original template Lace’  (Lay-say).  These are no longer sold, so I am directing you to the site where I know similar template are sold:)  I cut them out on the red side and then turned my paper over and folded part of the arrows in. Then I cut them off for the effect I wanted.  You would usually fold them out to the front and fold them under the little flaps.  Because I’m using digital paper, it’s pretty thin.  I just taped the brick road under it to show through.

The glitter paper came from Sassy Designs, Inc. Here is some info on them, they are having a great sale with digital paper SETS for only 25 cents!!!  Yes, really!  I don’t remember how I even found them, but check it out! 🙂

“The 12 Days of Christmas in July Sale is ENDING THIS FRIDAY! The sale is
scheduled to end promptly at 11:59pm EDT on Friday, July 26, 2013. (PLEASE
NOTE THE TIME ZONE difference: Sale end time of 11:59pm EDT is 8:59pm PDT,
9:59pm MDT, and 10:59pm CDT.) “

Okay, now that brings me to my images.  These images are  from Doodle Pantry in a set called OZ.   I got the entire set and will be making more cards for Send A Smile 4 Kids.  The set comes with images, papers, and sentiments! 🙂  I, of course, used pre-colored digital images, but they have lots of un-colored images.  There are links on the left side of the page:)

OMGoodness, it’s after 2:30am here!  I have to go to bed, the little ones have no sympathy for my staying up too late! LOL

If you have any questions, feel free to ask! 🙂

Thanks for coming by today!  I hope I haven’t overloaded you with info:)  See you soon:)

JanetKay_JDABlueBouqu

3 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Doodle Pantry, Friday Mashup, Lace', Send a smile 4 kids

3 responses to “Friday Mashup #119 with cards for Send A Smile 4 Kids

  1. robyncockburn

    Cute cards and a very clever yellow brick road!

  2. What bright, cherry cards Janet! I love the colors on both cards and the yellow brick road is too cute! (oh, and this “quiet” you speak of, what is that? LOL)

    So glad you joined us at The Friday Mashup!

  3. I love those fold ’em templates… hadn’t thought of that one! Perfect for your yellow brick road (also very clever!). Thanks for joining the Friday Mashup this week.

Leave a Reply

