Friday mashup #120 & Merry Monday-July

This is a post edit, in case you’ve already seen it.  I missed the deadline for Merry Monday….again:(  But here’s the happy news, I won a top pick from Merry Monday for the second card on this post! 🙂  That’s the one with the little Elf:)

Winner Badge for Merry MondayAnd that’s only the first thing I want to tell you.  If you scroll down and look at the Elf card, you will see the embossing folder I used.  It’s Petals-a-Plenty by Stampin’ Up!  I love this embossing folder and if you do too, you can have a chance to win one!!  All comments this month (August)  will be going into a drawing , and one lucky winner will receive a brand new Petals-a-Plenty Embossing Folder for FREE! 🙂

This is sponsored by me, Janet Kay:)  I’m happy to be a Stampin’ Up! demonstrator and would be happy to have you as a customer, as long as you live in the USA.  I’m a “no pressure” salesperson, so you won’t be seeing me trying to get you to buy anything. I pretty much sell to get enough money for supplies for the two charities I support, Send A Smile 4 Kids and my newest endeavor, Operation Write Home:)

These are two very worthy causes if you have the time, please consider at least one:) I have links for both on my sidebar, take a look and give it some thought:)

I hope to be back very soon so that you have as many chances to comment as pobbible:)  Thank you for taking the time to read my post and visit my blog! 🙂

JanetKay_RetroNoel

Lots to show you today! 🙂  I’ve made two more cards with the sketch from Freshly Made #96.

fms96sketch

Here’s your Mashup Challenge:
  1. Create a project for “Christmas / Hanukkah”.
  2. Create a project with “Stripes”.
  3. Or Mash it Up and create a “Christmas / Hanukkah project with Stripes”.

Here’s the card I made for the Friday Mashup #120:

Half-fold Card2This card features a pre-colored digital stamp by Fred She Said called, Little Fat Santa.  It also features some handmade, striped paper made by me! 🙂

I’m pretty sure there’s an easy way to make striped paper, and if you know how, please let me know, but this is what I did;)

christmas stripes  sample 1I went to my favorite Print Shop program and selected “add a line”.  It allows you to make different sizes and colors.  Sounds easy?  Do you see how many stripes there are?!  It took me all day, in between dealing with my grandchildren!  I made a bunch of stripes in red, green and black.  I stored them on the side of the page.  Then I layered them one by one.  I finished two or three times and didn’t like it and changed it up.  I was up until 4am!  Here is how it looked when I was almost done, I put in a “shape” of white and covered the ends to make it all one size.  Then I added my images to the “white” side so I could print everything on one page.

christmas stripes  sample2Here is a close-up of the tag I made:

Half-fold Card3I stamped on some thin, long paper, then I folded it in half and attached it with a silver, sparkle brad.  I left a little loop in the paper to make it stand out.  I also made a silver, sparkle snowflake with a retired Stampin’ Up! punch.  The red snowflake background paper is also Fred She Said, Christmas Papers 1-2009. The white cardstock was embossed with an old Embossing Folder by Cuttlebug.   The Santa and the tag are both popped- up with SU Stampin’ Dimentionals.

Now for my second card, I will be entering it over at Merry Monday-July. There was no sketch this month, the entire month has been “anything goes”!

July ChallengeHalf-fold Card1Same basic sketch, I just changed it up a little;)  I used my handmade paper, some leftover red snowflake, and regular cardstock embossed with a Stampin’ Up! folder called Petals-a-Plenty.  I believe this is my favorite embossing folder!:) At least for Christmas;)  The pre-colored digital image is from Fred She Said, Naughty or Nice Elf. The sentiment is also included with a few others:)  I used a silver glitter snowflake and a sparkly green brad.  Here I popped-up only the striped section.

Wow, that sure seems like a lot!  I hope you were able to make it all the way through;)

Thanks for coming by today!  I’m always happy to have visitors! 🙂  I don’t know what will be next, but I hope to be back soon!

JanetKay_RetroNoelP.S.  I’m not proofreading this so if you find errors, please let me know:)

12 Comments

Filed under Always Playing With Paper, Challenges, Christmas, Emma, Fred She Said, Freshly Made, Friday Mashup, Merry Monday, Send a smile 4 kids, Stampin' Up!

12 responses to “Friday mashup #120 & Merry Monday-July

  1. I saw your lovely Christmas card on Always playing with paper Merry Monday – you might also like to enter this into my CHNC challenge extra for July – I’d love to see it there too. x

  2. robyncockburn

    Gorgeous cards. Great job on the striped paper. Once I create something like that I use it again and again by just recolouring the stripes – more value for all that hard work in the first place!

  3. Oh my gosh….you have infinite patience making that striped paper!! Could you have done part of it and then cut & pasted the rest? At any rate, it is beautiful and makes a great background for your cute Christmas images! Thanks for sharing your creation with us at the Merry Monday challenge!

  4. Wow Janet, that is amazing what you did making the striped paper, I would have never had the patience to do that! Both of your cards are fantastic and that paper turned out beautiful!

    Thanks so much for playing along with us at The Friday Mashup!

  5. Love the card, the colors and that sweet santa image. Thanks for joining us at Merry Monday.

  6. Very cute Santa image, and I love that you made your own striped paper – very cool! Thanks for joining the Friday Mashup this week.

  7. Super coloring skills girl! Love this card! Thanks for joining us at The Friday Mash Up!

  8. Wow!! Love the striped paper – what a great idea and wonderfully executed 🙂 That santa is darling and I love what you’ve done with the folded paper at the top of the tag. Thanks for sharing with us at The Friday Mashup this week!

  9. Goodness me, that’s dedication to make your own digital striped paper – very impressive! Fab Christmas cards! Thanks for playing along with the Friday Mashup this week!

  10. The striped paper turned out great Janet! Must have been very satisfying putting these cards together. They have a really professional look. Keep up the inspiration 🙂

  11. Lornamay

    You’ve got just the right Christmas colours in your stripes and they make a lovely backdrop for your little elf. You’ve used a great layout for the card too.

  12. Gill Middleton

    I love your stripey Christmassy paper Janet.and it makes the perfect background for your santa and little elf. I’m sure you’ll use it over and over again.

Leave a Reply

