Freshly Made #101

Here I am again:)  I thought I would whip together a quick card tonight;)  Ha, ha!  This card looks simple, and it’s not hard, but it took forever!  I was thinking of sending this to Operation Write Home.  Now everything I make for this cause gets taped and glued!   I’m used to using the Stampin’ Up! Tombow glue.  I use it for all my crafts and I think it works great, plus it gives me a few seconds to adjust my layers before setting them.  With tape, it grabs right away and I don’t have any time to adjust:(  Some of you may notice my layers aren’t as perfect as they should be:(  Next time will be faster and better……I’m hoping;)

Anyway….I made this card for the challenge over at Freshly Made cards #101.  Here is their sketch:

FMS Final 101-001I know, looks pretty simple, right?  Here’s my card:

Half-fold Card2Still looks simple, but keep in mind, every layer was taped and glued!  Also, I don’t remember where I got this digital paper from, but I love it, and I made the plain paper to match the image paper.  If you click to enlarge, you can see that the snowflakes are made with a Memory Box Die, that’s the top layer.  Then I have the blue snowflake paper, layer 2.  Below that is the dark blue paper that I printed on brochure-matte paper, layer 3.  There are two layers of cardstock under that layer to make it level with the flags, layers 4 & 5.  Under that is a layer of swiss dots, layer 6.  Then another layer of dark blue, layer 7, and finally the card back.  I also layered the flags onto each other, and mounted them on a piece of cardstock so the dots wouldn’t show through the papers, they aren’t very thick.

Wow, I’m exhausted just telling you about it!  I just printed the snowflake paper, and cut it to size.  All the blue sheets I made from the original snowflake paper.  I have a free program called Artweaver, I opened my snowflake paper, then two empty boxes.  I used the eye dropper tool to pick up the colors I wanted from the original, then used the paint bucket to fill the empty boxes.  After that you need to save the boxes to your computer  in a folder with a name.  You need to make sure you save it in jpg format.  Not so simply made, but I think I made it look simple;) lol

If you’ve left a comment on my blog in August, I will be choosing a winner this week from all the entries for the Stampin’ Up! embossing folder.  So be sure to check back:)

Thanks for coming by today, I said I’d be back soon;)  I’m always glad when you come by! 🙂   I’ll see you again this week, maybe twice:)

JanetKay_SnowedIn

3 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Christmas, Freshly Made, Memory Box Dies

3 responses to “Freshly Made #101

  1. NancyJB

    My goodness….you are a busy little bee this weekend. Great card and, yes, the sketch looks simple but I see it is not so. Really great card. Love the colors. Makes me think of cool weather which I so dearly want right now. TFS

  2. I love the blue and white – a perfect combo for snowflakes! You created a lovely card – definitely worth all the work you put into it! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

  3. robyncockburn

    Definitely worth the effort – a beautiful card. Such a lovely shade of blue.

Leave a Reply

