Freshly Made #102 & Doodle Pantry #38

Wow, these one week challenges really run me ragged!  I have about 6 cards ready to put together, but not enough time to do it:(   I only have one card today, but I will be using the same sketch again.  This weeks sketch is brought to you by Freshly Made Sketches #102.  I will also enter this card over at the Doodle Pantry challenge #38, and finally, I will be adding it to my Operation Write Home box🙂

Here is the sketch for Freshly Made #102.

FMS Final 102-001Here’s my card:

Half-fold Card1I think this looks a little brighter than it actually is, but only a little.  I used the auto correct feature, but the card is really bright! 🙂  For this card, I used all Doodle Pantry, it’s from a kit called Vintage Stocking.  It’s one of the new images for September.  You can check out the blog, enter the blog challenge, or check out the sale going on until Sept. 11th.

Using my Print Shop, which I always do, I printed the green paper with the purple layered behind it and cut that layer out, I also printed the blue layer with the purple layer attached and cut that out.  I made the purple oval on PS also and cut it out backing it with plain cardstock, because the paper I print on for images isn’t very thick. The stocking is printed, cut out, then layered onto of the purple oval.  I cut and pasted to get the stocking border to look like a ribbon.  I think next time I will make it smaller.  I do like how it turned out though:)

When making cards for Operation Write Home, I try to give the cards some dimension, without making them bulky or have things that might poke through an envelope.  These cards go to a sorting and packaging stop before getting sent off to our troops and then sent back to our troops loved ones.  Lots of traveling, so it must hold up during the travels;)

I have a bunch of things started so I know I will be back sooner than later!  Thanks for stopping by today!:)  I truly appreciate your interest in my cards and causes! 🙂

JaNetKAy_TrimTheTree

8 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Doodle Pantry, Freshly Made, Operation Write Home

8 responses to “Freshly Made #102 & Doodle Pantry #38

  1. Marie Bingaman

    Hi Janet! I love the colors on your card! 🙂

  2. robyncockburn

    Gorgeous! Very festive card.

  3. Lovely card! I love those bright colours! They will definitely brighten someone’s holiday! Thanks for joining us this week at Freshly Made Sketches!

  4. Wonderful Christmas card. Some of my cards come out brighter than they really are. I love your CAS approach and your pretty papers. Thank you for sharing and joining our September challenge at Doodle Pantry.

  5. Bright and cheerful for the holidays! love the stocking!

  6. This card looks fantastic. I love how you used the image for a “ribbon” look. Thank you for joining us this month at Doodle Pantry!

  7. laurie

    What a fun and beautiful card! How creative to use the zig zag portion of the stocking as a border! What a great idea. Thanks for playing along with Doodle Pantry Digital Challenge 38!

  8. Beautiful card and I am loving the stocking zig zag as an edging, so creative! Thanks for joining us at the DPDC#38!

Leave a Reply

