Merry Monday #77, Doodle Pantry #39 & Operation Write Home

Wow, a lot going on today!  I have two cards today, both Christmas cards:)  The first card will be entered into the Challenge over at Always Playing With Paper,  Merry Monday #77.  They have a color challenge this week that at first, I hated it!  But then it kind of grew on me and I embraced the challenge and actually made two with the chosen colors! What are those colors, you must be wondering…….Red, Pink, Dark Green, Light Green and White.  I was okay with all the colors, except the Pink. Then I found some perfect papers!  The papers are by Sassy Designs and the set is called Fruitcake, which is pretty much how I felt about the colors. lol

I don’t think I’m thrilled with these colors together, but you have to check out the other cards!  The cards submitted are pretty great! 🙂  So check out Merry Monday and stop by every week for a new challenge:)

Now for my card:

Half-fold Card1You can click on my cards to see them larger.  You may want to if you want to see the snowflake detail on the pink paper.  I used VersaMark and stamped some snowflakes from the Stampin’ Up! set, Serene Snowflakes (retired).  I used Stampin’ Up! Pretty In Pink as the background color.  Then I layered the Fruitcake dots.  I used SU Real Red and embossed it with Stampin’ Up! Petals a Plenty folder. I used a retired SU snowflake punch, with a little snowflake brad to keep it in place.  Finally, I added my cute Westie image from Fred She Said called, Winter Westie.   Here’s the set info:

-includes BOTH the DIGI and Pre-Coloured versions.
-DIGI ( uncoloured ) is in JPG, PNG + printable sheet. Digi also includes an alternate Wesite WITHOUT a scarf.
-Pre-coloured are in JPG and include 2 versions of scarf + printable SHEET

*Pre-Coloured Westies ( with scarf ) are available in PNG by email request anytime after purchase.

I asked for the PNG version that I requested after purchase, that  has no blue background.  I mounted it on SU Garden Green.  Everything is mounted low profile with just added cardstock layers.  Both of my cards will be going to Operation Write Home and your cards can’t be too thick.  Currently they have at least two challenges going on, be sure to check them out! 🙂

My second card will be going into the Doodle Pantry Challenge #39. Their challenge starts the first of every month, and runs for the entire month, so you have lots of time to join in the fun! 🙂   Here’s my card:

Half-fold Card2How is that for a Pink Christmas card?  I got this idea from Pat Dadisman, who submitted it over at Doodle Pantry, you can see her card here, as well as the digital image, Fancy Flamingo, by Doodle Pantry.  I also used DP Santa Accessories COLOR plus for the hat.  The following are the Stampin’ Up! products I used:  Garden Green cardstock, stamp from  the Delightful Decorations (retired) set, and the matching punch (retired). I stamped the ornament with Real Red.

The colorful paper comes from Sassy Designs and is part of the Fruitcake set. This card will also be going in the box for Operation Write Home.  The joy ornament is popped up with extra cardstock to keep a low profile:)

Ok, I think that’s it for now.  I have to get busy and make lots more cards!!

Thanks for stopping by today, I’m always happy to have you! 🙂   I hope you can stop by again:)

JAnETKaY_ChristmasPig2

14 Comments

Filed under Always Playing With Paper, Challenges, Christmas, Fred She Said, Kids, Merry Monday, Operation Write Home, Stampin' Up!

14 responses to “Merry Monday #77, Doodle Pantry #39 & Operation Write Home

  1. robyncockburn

    I agree with you – I find it difficult to work pink in with red and green. I have some Christmas papers in those colours which I’ve never managed to use. You’ve done REALLY well to pull the colours together with these! Great cards – and now I’ll have to revisit those papers since you have inspired me!

  2. Karen Harris

    I love your Westie card for Merry Monday. It makes me smile as it reminds me of my little fur baby.

  3. Great job using the challenge colors on not one but two cards! Such a cute little dog image! Thanks so much for joining us at Merry Monday this week.

  4. Both cards are wonderful Janet Kay, I love fun papers you used. Thank you for joining us for Merry Monday.

  5. powerstwina

    WOW Janet Kay, I thought also, those colors? Yuck ! But, You proved me wrong! I loved those colors together . They made the pictures and the ornaments Pop right off the card! They are just stunning. What an Artist you Are. Just Beautiful.

  6. Oh my goodness….how sweet is this little pup! Adorable! Thanks for playing with the Merry Monday challenge this week!

  7. This was a challenge for sure, Janet Kay! But that pink ended up working out beautifully in both of these cards! I love that flamingo! Thanks for sharing these with us at Merry Monday!

  8. I love both cards, Janet but my favourite is that sweet pup! What a cute image and your layout is absolutely sweet! Thank you for joining us for Merry Monday.

  9. Hi Janet. Two fabulous cards using the color challenge – wow!! I especially LOVE the adorable puppy … and the cute papers you’ve used. Thanks for joining us at Merry Monday. Loll

  10. Cyndie R

    Sweet! I love them both. The westie reminds me of my coton de tulear (a European breed, not recognized by AKC) and have a major affinity for flamingos so you nailed this challenge in my opinion!

  11. Marsha D

    Your cards are so cute. You did a great job with the red, pink and green. Love the hat on the flamingo. Thanks for playing the Doodle Pantry challenge.

  12. laurie

    Both cards are fabulous, but WOW on the flamingo card–LOVE that paper! And how cute for a pink christmas card! Thanks for joining the Doodle Pantry Digital Challenge 39!

  13. Two wonderful cards and I so love the flamingo one! Great layout and a wonderful Holiday themed creation! Thanks for joining us at the Doodle Pantry Digital Challenge #39!

  14. Awesome card!
    Wonderful colors
    Thanks for joining us, at Doodle Pantry, and hope to see you again next month.
    Hugs
    Lorianna DPDT

Leave a Reply

