Friday Mashup #130 & OWH Midweek throwdown

I have a lot of cards tonight, so not much explanation, but please feel free to ask if you have questions on supplies or anything else:)  My first card is for the Friday Mashup Challenge #130.

Here’s your Mashup Challenge:
Create a project with “Ripped paper.”
Create a project with a “a fussy cut image.” (Cut something out)
Or Mash it Up and create a project “with some Ripped paper & something Fussy Cut.”

Here’s my card:

Half-fold Card1I have to say it doesn’t look as nice in the photo than it does in hand.  I love how this card turned out!  I have used a similar flower and have also used this  layout before, but I think this one turned out the best of all of them!!:)  You need to click on the card to really see how beautiful the flower is and the awesome middle embellishment!  Okay, all of this is just my opinion, maybe you’ll like it too:)  The flower image is from Fred She Said called, Pointy Poinsettia Flowers.  I can already tell those of you who know me well are thinking this is a pre-colored image, not this time!  I took out my Aqua Painter from Stampin’ Up! and used Read Red and Always Artichoke to hand paint this flower!!  And yes, I followed the rules, it’s all hand cut!  I painted it and then cut it out. It’s so pretty and it stands up quite a way, this will definitely be going to one of my family members, because it will have to be boxed and maybe hand delivered!

Now I have three more cards, yes three!  These cards are for a challenge over at Operation Write Home called the Midweek Throwdown.  The challenge is to make multiple cards that are easy to make over and over.  Mine are kind of multiple, I did make three, but they aren’t exactly the same;)

Half-fold Card2A great image from Fred She Said, I’ve used this image a lot of times, it’s called Christmas Poinsettia Lanntern Set.  I’m assuming that’s the way you spell Lantern in Canada;)  Yes, it’s pre-colored;)

Half-fold Card3

Another awesome digital image from Fred She Said! 🙂  This one is called Catchin’ Flakes. I adore this image, it reminds me of my baby brother when he was small, quite a few years ago! 😉

Half-fold Car4

This last card is made with a pre-colored digital image from Doodle Pantry called, Cocoa Cup Ants.   You can shop by colored images, the are about 368, but there are plenty of un-colored digis and paper packs as well.  I love pre-colored digital images!  I have three of my grandchildren staying with me.  They’ve been here for a number of months and it’s practically impossible to make cards:(  Pre-colored digital images have helped me make a lot more cards, because the coloring is already done:)  And, of course, I don’t color that well anyway:(

I hope you’ve enjoyed viewing my cards today:)  Thanks for stopping by! 🙂  I hope to see you again soon:)

JanetKay_PoinsettiaPe

 

11 Comments

Filed under Boys-men, Challenges, Christmas, Doodle Pantry, Fred She Said, Friday Mashup, Kids, Operation Write Home, OWH Midweek Challenge, Send a smile 4 kids, Stampin' Up!

11 responses to “Friday Mashup #130 & OWH Midweek throwdown

  1. NancyJB

    Love them all, Janet. I think they are great and you did really super with the coloring. I am just starting to do some coloring myself and have to experiment a lot. I don’t have the artistic eye for shading, etc. Thanks for sharing.

  2. robyncockburn

    They’re all delightful but I’m very partial to poinsettias and you’ve done a wonderful job with the colouring. The embellishment in the centre is gorgeous too!

    • Thank you ladies! 🙂 I did paint the Poinsettia, but the others are all pre-colored digial images. I can’t really color:( I love digital artwork, I actually own a number of images from Mo Manning, but I’m intimidated by all the gorgeous samples that get posted! 😦 Besides the fact that Copics are very expensive, there are too many of them, and most of the people that post say they’ve taken classes! All for a card someone may just toss in the trash!! I do my very best to make cards that people will love, but I couldn’t possibly spend that much time coloring a card! I’m not really artistic at all, I just love crafting! 😉

  3. Thanks for playing along in this week’s OWH Midweek Throwdown Challenge. I love the card layout you used – made making multiples easy and love how you turned the layout two different ways. Is your layout a sketch you found at OWH or somewhere else online? I love to collect good sketches!

  4. Great fussy cutting on the poinsettia with a great design layout. Thanks for joining the Friday MashUp this week.

  5. Oooh, hand colors and cut! Very nice poinsettia! Thanks for joining the Friday Mashup this week.

  6. Oh goodness Janet, you did an outstanding job on the poinsettia! Your coloring is fabulous and you definitely nailed the fussy cutting portion of the challenge!!

    Your other cards are fantastic as well! I just love that lantern image! I have to ask…how much ink do you go through in your printer when using these colored digital images? I dont use digital images so I’m not sure how that works.

    Thanks so much for playing along with us at The Friday Mashup!

  7. Thank you for your comments:) Regarding ink, I don’t think I use all that much, but I have been printing lots of colored things for years. I used to print lots of photos of the family. Now I buy those and print digital images;)

    I love the lantern too, the set comes with white flowers as well:) That image is from Fred She Said Designs.

  8. Beautiful card and the poinsettia is fab! Thanks for playing along with us at the Friday Mashup this week!

  9. Janet, I especially like your snowflake embossed backgrounds and the catchin’ flakes card. Your layouts are really inspiring!

Leave a Reply

