Merry Monday #79, Friday Mashup #132 & Operation Write Home

I’m having so much trouble fitting my card making in:(  I have two cards today that look pretty simple.  Actually they weren’t too hard, just time consuming.  To send to Operation Write Home, I have to make sure everything is glued down well, but no glue can be sticking out anywhere.  That way the cards don’t all get stuck together during shipment.  Here is my first card for Merry Monday #79, but first the challenge;)

MM New Look Sketches-012

Today we have a colour/theme challenge for you!!! We are looking for Blue, Silver/Gray and White with Snowflakes!!

Half-fold Card1I love the Memory Box die that I used for the bottom of the card!!  Boy, is it hard to glue down!!  I used Stampin’ Up! Tombow glue, and put little dots on the back everywhere!  For the really tiny spots, I put some glue on a piece of paper and used my craft knife to add just little, tiny bits of glue at the very tip of my craft knife.  I was walking through Michaels, and saw this ribbon that looked perfect for the challenge.  I glued it to my card using a tape runner.  The words are Peel-Offs.  Peel-Offs are very popular overseas, I “found” them about 5 years ago, on a card making site. Peel-offs are pre-glued like stickers.   You can find some here.  Here’s a photo of one page, you can see I’ve used most of the “Merry Christmas” and a few of the bells and trees.

Half-fold Card3

 

If you’re not good at heat embossing, you might want to try these.  They come in Silver, Gold, and a number of other colors like black, white, copper, or holigraphic. I used cardstock from Stampin’ Up!, Tempting Turquoise.  This card is going in the Operation Write Home box:)

My second card is for the challenge over at the Friday Mashup #132.

Here’s your Mashup Challenge:
Create a project with a “Tree or Leaves.”
Create a project using the “Color Orange.”
Or Mash it Up and create a “Project with Leaves/ Tree & the Color Orange.”

Here’s my card:

Half-fold Card2I struggled with this card, because I had sooooo many choices!  I finally settled on this digital image that I bought on Esty, from BaBaPuff.  I actually found it by accident so I don’t have a link for you:(  I printed it on my special brochure paper, matte.  Then I printed a second one the same size and cut out the small square.  I backed the square with Stampin’ Up! Tangerine Tango cardstock, also the bottom colored layer.  The little tag is Stampin’ Up! Itty Bitty Banners. This set has a matching die set called Framelits-Bitty Banners.

I’m getting pretty used to making everything close to the card.  Anything I send to Operation Write Home needs to not have “sticky out parts”.  They can catch to other cards and get pulled off.  My layers are glued as close to the card as I can get them.  Actually I tape them and glue them. It’s become a habit now;)

Operation Write Home is working on Winter cards now, Christmas has been sent or are about to be sent.  Here is a list of themes they will be needing, besides Winter, and Valentines Day:

Accepted themes:
Birthday
Love
Thank you
Missing you
Thinking of you
Blank (no sentiment)  All cards should be blank inside,with plenty of room for writing. Blank (no sentiment) means no sentiment on the front, just decorated.

Also, please don’t forget about the Children’s Hospitals.  Send A Smile 4 Kids has less restrictions, and is a very worthy cause.  I’m sending Halloween this week and than it’s on to Christmas! 🙂  Because the Hospitals are right here in the USA, cards can be sent closer to the Holiday:)

Do you know card makers with ties to the military, or just appreciates the sacrifice our service people are making, anyone who has a special place in their hearts for children?  Don’t have a lot of extra cards?  Don’t worry, any amount will do.  But think of card making parties, friends, relatives, anyone who crafts.  I know Christmas is very stressful for a lot of people, that’s why I make Christmas cards all year, at least one a week! 🙂  Take a look at my cards listed under the OWH, and SAS4K  categories, pop over to their websites and see what others are making.  Everything should be handmade, but it doesn’t have to be filled with embellishments.

As a matter of fact, if you want to send notes or letters to our troops, they can be store bought cards.  They do not need envelops. They can be sent anytime.  Our troops love hearing from people back home, you don’t even have to craft.  There are coloring pages on the OWH website, children can color or write letters.  Ask your school or church to help out! 🙂

Ok, sermon over.  I guess my Holiday Spirit has kicked in already! 😉  It breaks my heart to think of anyone alone and sad on a Holiday, or anytime really:(

I’m so glad you stopped by today! 🙂  Crafters are one of the best people to know, they are kind and giving, and usually patient;)  I hope to see you soon:)

JanetKay_BrushThin

 

 

15 Comments

Filed under Always Playing With Paper, Challenges, Christmas, Fall-Autumn, Friday Mashup, Operation Write Home, Send a smile 4 kids, Stampin' Up!

15 responses to “Merry Monday #79, Friday Mashup #132 & Operation Write Home

  1. That snowflake die is gorgeous. I wish we had white Christmases! I would find orange challenging but you have made a beautiful card. Brilliant use of your digital image.

  2. NancyJB

    Great cards. I know what you mean about the Memory Box die cuts. I use Glossy Accents to glue down anything like that. It is hard to do but once I get it on there I lay a piece of coated paper (or waxed paper on top of it and weight it down for a couple of minutes. Glossy accent is the only glue I use. I have not had good luck with any other type of glue.
    You did a great job explaining OWH. Thanks for sharing your cards and for telling others about OWH.

  3. Marie Bingaman

    Hi Janet! I loved your use of that Memory Box die, I got one for myself!! I’ve been struggling a bit with what to do for the Merry Monday card…I guess I’d better get on it tho! :). Great cards!

  4. This snowflake border is one of my favorites, Janet Kay! It is hard to glue it down. I find that the first glue I put on is dry when I get the last. You got it though and it makes a beautiful snowflake card! Thanks for sharing it with us at Merry Monday!

  5. Very nice card Janet Kay, this die is so pretty and although I have it I have not used it yet so thanks for the wonderful inspiration. Thank you for playing along with Merry Monday.

  6. Such a pretty card, Janet! I love the delicate snowflake edging! Thanks so much for joining us at Merry Monday.

  7. What a fun tree card! I love the little frame around the branches… very cool technique! Thanks for joining the Friday Mashup this week.

  8. All you cards are so pretty. Great tree image, lucky find! Thanks for joining us at The Friday Mashup.

  9. Love your spotlighting of the tree with the orange leaves, Janet. Great design. TFS at the Friday MashUp this week;)

  10. Janet, great job on all 3 cards! Your Friday Mashup card is just adorable, I love the leaves blowing through the air!

    Also, thank you for everything you do for the troops. As a Navy veteran and wife to a retired Navy Corpsman it means a lot to me!

    Thanks so much for playing along with us at The Friday Mashup!

  11. P.S. I’m sorry I havent gotten a chance to write back but I did get your email about using digital images, thank you so much!!

Leave a Reply

