Operation Write Home #196 & Send A Smile 4 Kids

I have two cards today, but I have to rush off and make more!  There is just never enough time:(

My first card will be entered into two challenges.  I’ve made a number of these to go to both, Operation Write Home & Send A Smile 4 Kids🙂  OWH is a sketch challenge:

OWHsketch196SAS4K is Early Holiday Wishes 4 Kids.

Half-fold Card1Everything on this card is digital from Doodle Pantry set, Sledding Ants COLOR plus, except the background snowy paper,  that came from Clearly Digi Stamps, which is no more:(  But, a number of the images from CDS will show up at Doodle Pantry, so you might want to keep an eye open and subscribe to their blog😉  OMGoodness, I almost forgot!  Doodle Pantry is sponsoring the challenge over at Operation Write Home this week, head over there for a chance to win:)

I don’t do digital cards like some other people, mine are printed and then layered like a regular card. I had printed out all the layers and mounted the whole card with tape and glue.  Ugh, I was way too tired I guess, because I got glue and tape everywhere! 😦   I was not happy at all:(  So I went back and blended most of the layers.  The back teal, the snow layer, the purple layer and the ants are all one layer printed on my printer with photo, matte paper.  The patterned teal is one layer by itself, and the orange layer with all the wording is one layer.  So there are three layers, plus the cardstock. Oh, I did put the orange layer on top of a piece of cardstock cut to size.  This particular card will go to OWH, the cards going to SAS4K will have a few embellishments added and maybe a little glitter:)  Sorry, no glitter for OWH cards;)

This process may be quick and easy for some people, but I really have to work to get everything to look right!  So if you’re thinking I just threw together a digital card, you would be mistaken.  Maybe after I make a hundred of these cards I will be faster, but right now they take forever!   However, I love how it looks and there isn’t glue or tape poking out everywhere;)

My next card didn’t turn out exactly how I planned:(

Half-fold Card2Of course the black background is fine, the embossing is fine even the Fred She Said, Blue Jay looks beautiful!  But I don’t like how I cut the black oval around the Blue Jay:(   My die cut the black too large for my taste, so I cut it smaller by hand. I’m not doing that again!  Overall I love the card, and probably no one else will even notice, but it just bugs me.  I’m most probably going to make it over, I’m so picky!

Wow, I’ve talked too much!  I have to get on with making more cards!!

Thanks for stopping in today! 🙂  Hope to see you again soon! 🙂

JanetKay_WinterWonder

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Challenges, Christmas, Doodle Pantry, Fred She Said, Operation Write Home, Send a smile 4 kids, Winter

Leave a Reply

