Send A Smile 4 Kids & sister’s Birthday

I’m excited today to show you the card I made for my sister’s birthday! 🙂  I also have two cards that are Simply Made for Send A Smile 4 Kids🙂  If you have questions on anything, be sure to ask:)

My first card is for my sister, winter birthdays always get kind of lost with Thanksgiving and Christmas, so I try to make her something really nice;)  Here is the card I made:

Half-fold Card2I had to scan this one, and I’ll show you why in a few minutes.  Aren’t the colors beautiful?!  Everything on this card is Stampin’ Up! unless noted.  This is gorgeous paper from the new Stampin’ Up! Holiday catalog, called Winter Frost Specialty Designer Series Paper. It has two papers with silver accents, I used one of them on this card, but you can’t tell:(  The stripe paper has silver lines that look gray here.  I used Island Indigo as the bottom colored layer, and Coastal Cabana on top of that.  Then I cut my DSP and added it in a Starburt Pattern, which you should find here.

I pulled out my Apothecary Accents Framelits and cut the shape for my sentiment, which is Beautiful Birthday, it was sold as a single stamp. The sentiment is stamped with an Island Indigo stamp pad. It looks like a small brad, but it’s actually a waste dot from a regular 1/16th hole punch. It’s cut out of Coastal Cabana. Lastly I pulled out my Bird Builder punch and punched the bird out with white.  I sponged on some Island Indigo, I used my Basic Black Stampin’ Write Marker for the neck, near the beak and for the eye.  For the eye, I used my uni-ball Signo Gel Pen-White for under the Basic Black.  I also used the white pen on the wing.  I couldn’t find a gray marker so I used my granddaughter’s crayon.  When in need;)

Now, the reason I scanned this card:

Half-fold Card1Look how awful the colors are in this photo! I had a terrible time with my camera last night! 😦  I fixed this photo and it’s still terrible!

Anyway…..I have two more cards that are for the Send A Smile 4 Kids box🙂  I hope they aren’t too dark, I did take photos of them. Here’s the first one:

Half-fold Card3Ok, a little dark but you can still see it:)  I used Stampin’ Up! Wild Wasabi in the back, and Basic Black under the holly border.  I used a Darice embossing folder that was gifted to me.  It has now become my favorite Winter embossing folder!!  I used a 3D sticker for the center image.  I bought it at Michaels about 2 years ago,( okay I bought a bunch of them ) by Mary Englebright.  See that cute border, the Holly and the black and white are part of the packaging, yes really, I thought it looked pretty;)   This one and the next one are for Send A Smile 4 Kids.

Half-fold Card4This one has another sticker, but I’m not sure where it’s from, it was in my stash.  All my cards look much better in hand than one here.  The snowman has silver on the “Noel” sign, around the mittens, for the mouth,  and on the hat embellishments.  The big embossed snowflakes have Stampin’ Up! Dazzling Details, and two small gems.  Simple but cute, at least I think so;)

OMGoodness, I have been working on this post for over 3 hours!  I have to keep stopping to do things for my grandchildren!  They have no sense of time! lol

Thanks for stopping by today! 🙂  I’m off to make more cards while my grandson takes a nap and the girls watch a movie:)  See you soon! 🙂

JanetKay_LetItSnow

4 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Embossing folders, Kids, Send a smile 4 kids, Stampin' Up!, Winter

4 responses to “Send A Smile 4 Kids & sister’s Birthday

  1. Gorgeous card! The one for your sister is very special. Love the colours.

  2. Marie Bingaman

    Great cards Janet! 🙂

  3. NancyJB

    The card for your sister is Beautiful. It is funny how some colors don’t work with the camera. I always try to take my photos in the sun. CraftsUprint says always take photos in bright sun. They have no idea how bright our sun can get here 🙂 I usually try Not to take photos around the middle of the day as the bright sun will completely wash out the color. When it is cloudy or too hot I pull out my light box. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Your sister will be so impressed with her card! The colors are really beautiful. Your bird building is very skillful with all that special sponging and coloring! Yes the scan worked better to show that card off nicely. I, too, prefer to take my card photos in the sunshine. Even outside in the cloudy daylight is better than indoors. I have a friend with a January 2nd birthday and it is so easy to just forget it with the holidays, so I must make a big effort to do a unique card for her winter birthday soon.

Leave a Reply

