UPDATES-Merry Monday # 155 and Freshly Made Sketches #183

I have some updates for this post, I will add them as bold print:)

I have a lot to share today and it wouldn’t all fit in the title!  I have Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, two different challenges, Christmas, images by Fred She Said and SAS4Kids! No time to waste, lets get going! 🙂

I made two cards last night, one for Merry Monday #155 and another for Freshly Made Sketches #183.  Merry Monday’s challenge was to use a cat or a dog.

I received an Honorable Mention for this card from Merry Monday #155.

Honorable Mention  15665

abSDC15665This image is from Fred She Said, and is called Kiss Me Scottie.  I also used an embossing folder with Holly (close enough to Mistletoe) Stampin’ Up! Real Red cardstock, and some really pretty washi tape, also Stampin’ Up! that you can get discounted right now, called All is Calm.  I used the same layout as the challenge for Freshly Made #183, which is coming up next:)

 

FMS Final 183-001Yes, I usually stay pretty close to the sketch;)

 

My ProjectThis image is also by Fred She Said, called Nolan with a Sign/Heart.  I love Fred She Said because you can get your digital images colored or b/w so you can color them yourself:)  I used Stampin’ Up! Pacific Point, Real Red, and Soft Suede cardstock. I think he’s so darn cute!

 

Switching gears, we are on to Mother’s Day with a new guest, Mairead Reid (rhymes with parade)  Mairead is from Ireland and is a good friend of mine:)  She is living in the USA now in the Northwest.

My friend, Mairead, had this to say about the kimono, “A Japanese lady I knew in Atlanta learned that I made cards and gave me a bunch of her old ones for me to “upcycle”. The cards had all Japanese images and of course are very unusual for us here in this part of the world. So I just cut them up and used parts to make new cards. Sometimes I add a border of stitching to make it more authentically mine and more handmade.”

 

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERATwo different, lovely pinks, the flowers in the first card are also from Fred She Said called Lenten Roses – Hellebores.  I was shocked to discover that I don’t own this design from FSS, I thought I had everything Fred She Said! It comes in 8 different colors.  A beautiful flower and I love the cut-out design!  The kimono is amazing, it appears to be a lazor cut design and it is gorgeous laid over the pink!

 Mairead gave me this info regarding the three lovely different colored flowers: “The three stamped flowers are colored with 3-D Ink Glaze pens – it gives an embossed look. The stem was a stencil.”

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERABoth of these cards are beautiful, the flowers in the top one are shiny, I don’t know how she did that.  The flowers in the second card also look glossy, and the pink strip is glittery.  The kids are going to love giving these to their moms.  Oh, dear, I forgot, all Mairead’s cards will be going to Send A Smile 4 Kids!  But wait, there’s one more! 🙂

 Mairead gave me this update on the butterfly: “The butterfly on that last one was the left over (or negative) bits from a peel-off butterfly. There is a technique to pick up all the left over bits, so you don’t waste anything from your peel-off sheet.

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERALook at this beautiful cut-out!  It has a very delicate pattern that is hard to see here.  The butterfly is decorated with gold!  This card is beautiful in hand, the photo doesn’t do it justice!

Actually, all the cards shown here today will be going to Send A Smile 4 Kids, they have a blog challenge that you can find here.

Be sure to check out the Blog Candy I have coming up in May, you can find it here! 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to come by and read my blog today! 🙂  Hope to see you soon with Father’s Day cards and more! 🙂

JanetKay_BrushThin

10 Comments

Filed under Blog Candy, Boys-men, Challenges, Embossing folders, Father's Day, Fred She Said, Freshly Made, Guests, Kids, Merry Monday, Mothers Day, Send a smile 4 kids, Stampin' Up!, Uncategorized

10 responses to “UPDATES-Merry Monday # 155 and Freshly Made Sketches #183

  1. It’s so good to see you at Merry Monday again, Janet Kay! What a sweet little Christmas dog! Love all these cards! Thanks for sharing with us at Merry Monday!

  2. Beautiful set of cards, Thank you for joining us for Merry Monday this week.

  3. That pup is perfectly colored and the textured background is lovely.

  4. What a group of beautiful cards! Love that poochie card!!! Thanks so much for playing along with us at Merry Monday.

    Deanne 🙂

  5. Great cards. Love the background for the cute scottie dog! Mairead’s cards are all beautiful but it’s hard to go past that amazing kimono!

  6. Such pretty cards! Love the Christmas pup! Thanks for joining us at FMS!

  7. All of your cards are fabulous Janet – I love the sweet images you’ve used. Thanks for joining us at Freshly Made Sketches this week!

  8. Oh, I love the cards you did using that sketch, Janet! Wonderful puppy image. 😀 Those cards by Mairead for SAS4K are marvelous. I love that you share them with all of us. 😀

  9. It’s hard to pick my favorites from this wonderful bunch of cards, so I’ll have to say my favs are the Christmas dog and the Mothers Day gladiola, as I love the way both are shaded which makes them so life-like. Great job!!!

Leave a Reply

