Merry Monday #163, another guest from SAS4Kids

Sorry, no dogs today, but I do have horses!:)  I love horses, cats and dogs! 🙂  Birds are nice and bunnies…..but today, it’s horses! 🙂  But first, I want to show you the card I made for Merry Monday Challenge #163🙂  The theme this week is Red & White:)

163I love Merry Monday!:)  Last week I received an honorable mention for the card I made! 🙂  You can see it here🙂  A great honor, thank you Merry Monday! 🙂  Now on to this weeks card:

aaSDC16666aThis card looks even better in hand! 🙂  I used Shimmery White cardstock from Stampin’ Up! (retired) It’s a shame they retired it, it’s great for watercoloring, which is what I did! 🙂  The Poinsettia is from Fred She Said, it comes colored, but I actually colored it myself!! 🙂  I know, strange things do happen! 😉 lol  Anyway….I used  Pointy Poinsettia Flowers DIGI & CUTFILE SET ( I copied that right out of the store) I didn’t realize Tracey had added the cutefile, I cut all mine by hand! 🙂  I would have to cut by hand anyway, I don’t have a cutting machine:(

First I printed the FSS file right onto the Shimmery White cardstock from Stampin’ Up!, then I cut them out, and then I colored them.  You could color them first is you like;)  I used the Aqua Painter brush from Stampin’ Up! and refill bottles of Real Red, and Old Olive.  If you click on my photo and enlarge it, you can see the shimmer:)  I gently pushed some of the petals up and used Stampin’ Up! Dimentionals to hold them in place.

For the base I used Real Red, also the middle strip.  I added some lace that I found in my stash.  The center pretty thing (technical term;) lol) I found at Hobby Lobby.  The white is embossed with Stampin’ Up! embossing folder, Petals a Plenty (retired).  I know it’s so sad to see all these pretty things retired, but of course Stampin’ Up! has more different pretty things! 🙂  I just can’t NOT use craft items that I have;) !

Ok, that’s enough about my card, now on to our guest for today!  I will be showcasing cards from another person who sends cards to me for Send A Smile 4 Kids, her name is Geri Dean:) Geri sent me a box with over 200 cards!!!  She is also sending to OWH until they shut down in Aug. 2015.  Geri doesn’t send a box but maybe every quarter, but it’s a nice surprise to get such a large box! 🙂  Thank you Geri!! 🙂  Geri does have some that are the same, you would have to with such a large number of cards, but I’ve pulled out some of my favorites:)

Geri sent a large number of cards with horses that are great! 🙂  I won’t show them all, there are too many, but here is a good sample:)

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

This card has an awesome 3D hat!  I’m pretty sure it’s faux leather, but it looks real! 🙂  What an awesome card! 🙂

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA  SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

These two cards have the same image, but look very different with the layouts Geri used!

 

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA  SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I love both of these cards, the single horse has paper on the right that has been embossed.  The running horses is beautiful in hand, I love the image, the papers and the punched border! 🙂  I will have more of Geri’s horses in a future post:)  Here are some other cards that Geri made:

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA  SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Geri really has a good eye for papers and colors!  This is a great stamp set from Stampin’ Up!

 

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAI had trouble getting a good photo of these cards:(  The colors are more subtle than it shows in the photo, more like pastels.  They are so adorable and I have more to show you at a later time;)

 

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA  SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Aren’t these too cute?!  Pretty colors for girls, nice layouts and paper:)  That’s it for today, more to come at a later date:)

 

Thanks for coming by today, I hope you can come again soon! 🙂  Check out the Merry Monday challenge, they have a new Christmas themed challenge every week! 🙂  Also check out the SAS4Kids challenge, they have a new challenge every other week! 🙂

 

JanETKAY_BucketsOFun

 

7 Comments

Filed under Boys-men, Challenges, Christmas, Fred She Said, Kids, Merry Monday, Send a smile 4 kids, Stampin' Up!, Winter

7 responses to “Merry Monday #163, another guest from SAS4Kids

  1. You’ve created another Christmas beauty, Janet Kay! Love that poinsettia and the embossed background! Thanks for sharing with us at Merry Monday and congrats on last weeks HM!

  2. Gorgeous card, Janet Kay! Love your beautiful poinsettia and that lovely embossed background! So pretty! Thanks for playing along with us this week over at Merry Monday! 🙂

  3. Your Christmas card is just lovely, Janet! Very simple, but very elegant. Thanks for showcasing Geri’s cards, too. Wonderful creations! Congrats on your Honorable Mention in last week’s Merry Monday! ~ Andrea

  4. Super pretty Christmas card–love the lace & dry embossing!

  5. Rebecca Gillard

    Beautiful card, Janet. I love that poinsettia. You have done a grand job!! Beckie x

  6. robyncockburn

    I LOVE poinsettias on Christmas cards and this is a real beauty! The horse cards are fabulous too – great layouts and colour co-ordination.

  7. Holly Blaskie

    Janet, I LOVE the poinsettia Christmas card you made, it’s so lovely!!! Also, CONGRATS on honorable mention!!! The horse cards by Geri are very nice as well!!! Great job ladies!

Leave a Reply

