Merry Monday #165 and SAS4Kids

Here’s another really short post.  I’ve been working on this card for two days!  Hubby has been off work all the kids are home and my daughter took two day trips and let me with everyone!  It’s been slow going making a card:(  But, everyone is finally in bed and I have a few minutes before I fall over and go to sleep!  This card actually took a while because I had to search for all the components and I changed my mind half way though;)

I’m going to enter this card in the Merry Monday #165 challenge🙂 This weeks challenge is candles and flowers:)  Of course, my card will be going into the Christmas box for Send A Smile 4 Kids! 🙂

165Now, I was going in a totally different direction with this card, I even had the design “approved” by my daughter;)  I was going to use gold glitter paper as my background and gold ribbon.  Well, that’s not what I made;) lol

 

abSDC16843

This is the paper I started with, I didn’t make it, I found it on Etsy listed as Bokeh Christmas Digital Paper.  I love this paper!  It’s actually a deeper red down on the left  and bottom.  I have so much trouble getting all the colors to look just right with the lighting I have available:(

The Bokeh looked like reflections of the candle light to me.  Anyway…..I used an image from Fred She Said called, Christmas Rose Coloured Set.  I cut it out with a Spellbinders die, and popped it up with Stampin’ Up! dimentionals.  I also used Stampin’ Up! 1/8″ Ribbon Taffeta (retired).  The top corner snow is called Snowflake Corner, by Memory Box.

I’m still living partially out of boxes, so I had to search for my ribbon and my Memory Box die, so annoying! 😦  I was going to use what I had on hand (gold) but then decided I really wanted the white:)  I hope you like my card, it really was Simply Made;)

Thanks for coming by to look at my blog! 🙂  Most people will probably be out watching fireworks, but two of my little ones are afraid of the noise, so I put them down early, hoping they would sleep through it.  So sad:(  Lawrence was actually excited about the fireworks until he remembered how loud they are:(   I hope you all have had a safe and happy 4th! 🙂

 

JanetKay_Skyrocket

12 Comments

Filed under Challenges, Christmas, Fred She Said, Memory Box Dies, Merry Monday, Send a smile 4 kids, Stampin' Up!, Winter

12 responses to “Merry Monday #165 and SAS4Kids

  1. robyncockburn

    It’s a great card! Amazing change of direction you had – I’d like to see the other idea too! Hope you had a happy 4th of July!

  2. Wonderful card! Glad you chose the white ribbon instead of the gold. It’s really striking against that red patterned paper. You reminded me I was going to make a card for Merry Monday’s challenge, but it’s a bit too late for me now. Shoot. 😦 Anyway, just wanted to say I like your card. Good luck in the challenge! 🙂

  3. Elle est très charmante et paisible Janet, très jolie carte, biz

  4. Love the Bokeh DSP Janet and your beautiful Christmas card. Thanks for joining us at Merry Monday.

  5. The background paper is so pretty and it does look like reflected candle light! Perfect! Love the candles and the touches of white keep everything bright and elegant! Thanks for sharing with us at Merry Monday!

  6. Sue

    Gorgeous card! I love your layout and DSP and the corner die cut is so pretty. Thank you for joining in at Merry Monday. Sue (GD)

  7. Very pretty. Love the candles image.

  8. Yoou’re right the bokeh does appear to be picking up on that lovely candle image. This card is really beautifully done.

  9. This card is gorgeous, Janet Kay! Just love the coloring of this beautiful image and the corner design! Well done!! Thanks for playing along with us this week over at Merry Monday! 🙂

  10. karrenj

    Totally beautiful card! I love the image you’ve chosen and your coloring is fantastic. Thanks so much for joining us at Merry Monday.

  11. Holly Blaskie

    Janet,
    This card is spectacular! Great job!!! I think it’s one of your best!!!

Leave a Reply

