Merry Monday #187, Valentines & SAS4Kids

It is COLD where I am, and I made a Christmas card, but we’re also going to look at some Valentines today, so lets get started! 🙂

First, my card is for the Merry Monday Challenge #187. The theme this week is plaids:)

187I love plaids! 🙂  I actually use them a lot, just not lately:(  So here’s what I made:

aSDC18865I made a card like this one a while back with a red Moose.  I liked it so much, I decided to use the green fox:)  Everything I used came from a digital store on Esty.  I actually took the image over to a photo program and made the plain green from one of the fox’s stripes.  Then I ran that plain green through my Cuttlebug using an embossing folder from Stampin’ Up! (retired).  I also used a sentiment from Stampin’ Up! on the top right.  It’s hard to see because it’s from Teeny, Tiny, Wishes;)  I wanted to keep the sentiment small to not disturb the scene:)

After embossing my paper, I rubbed it gently with a nail file to bring out the white.  Pretty easy:)  I plan to make a lot of the plaid animal cards for next Christmas!  I think they will be great for guys in my Send A Smile for Kids hospitals! 🙂  People tend to think of kids as small, and I understand that, but we also serve “kids” up to 18, sometimes 20.  Please keep them in mind when making cards! 🙂

 

Now for some extra fun today, I have a guest who has sent in cards many times! 🙂  She sends her cards down all the way from Canada, Diane Herniman:)  I always feel the need to tell people you don’t have to make cards like Diane’s!  Diane’s cards are unique:)  I’ve never seen anyone make cards like hers!  That doesn’t necessarily make her’s better than any of yours, just different:)  I appreciate all the different styles of my card makers and I know the kids do too! 🙂  So enjoy Diane’s cards, and don’t feel that I compare them to anyone elses:)

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAI, personally, have three hospitals.  One of my hospitals has asked for cards without embellishments.  Here is how Diane has chosen to address that problem:)  The first card on the left, is a copy of the second card!  She made the second card with lots of stickers made with foil and they stick up a bit.  She just copied it and now there is a card without embellishments;)  Great idea!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAHere are the insides, the card on the left is “flat”, and the card on the right has a big foil sticker!  Both are great cards, and I’m sure whoever gets them will be happy! 🙂

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAHere are the backs of the cards.  If you’ve never seen Diane’s cards, she uses every available surface for the kids enjoyment.  The one on the left is the “plain” one and the one on the right has the same type of foil stickers:)  Great job Diane, I would never have thought of doing this! 🙂

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAHow about this one?  Boy cards are so hard for me sometimes, Diane does a great job! 🙂

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAI’m always surprised when I get a box from Diane:)  She calls this a ordinary card:)

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAI’ve never seen this type of card before!  At the top is how it looks when you start to open it.  They how it looks closed, and finally when it’s open.  What a great, fun card! 🙂  I had to see more of these!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERACards for boys and girls, yay! 🙂  I think boys will find these just as much fun as girls! 🙂

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERASAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERAI don’t like to pick favorites, because I love them all, but I have to say this one is my favorite! 🙂  Click on this map to enlarge it and see all the 3D items on here! 🙂  Amazing work Diane! 🙂  I don’t know how Diane thinks of these things!  I’d love to see the face of the boy that gets this one! 🙂

No pressure Diane, I don’t expect something this flashy all the time, but it’s fun to open these cards once in a while! 🙂  Thank you Diane for thinking overtime to come up with great ideas!  I could never do what you do!  I have them here in hand and I still couldn’t copy them if I tried!

 

I hope you all enjoyed Diane’s cards:)  As you might imagine, Diane doesn’t send a lot of these cards.  I still need you, all of the card makers on my team, to make and send cards.  Diane usually send 24-28 cards, and that’s great!  But, remember, I have three hospitals, over 300 kids!  I need you, and I appreciate everything you do for our kids!!! 🙂

I get excited every time I get a box of cards! 🙂  I can’t wait to open them and see what you’ve made! 🙂  Every card I receive is a special gift for a child! 🙂  Thank you for supporting our work with SAS4Kids! 🙂  Please be sure to take a look at our SAS4Kids challenge blog! 🙂

Thanks for coming by today! 🙂  I hope if you don’t send us cards, that you are finding some great inspiration here! 🙂  Please come back again for some more great cards! 🙂

 

JanetKay_PolkaHearts

 

9 Comments

Filed under Boys-men, Challenges, Christmas, Embossing folders, Guests, Kids, Merry Monday, Send a smile 4 kids, Stampin' Up!, Stickers, Winter

9 responses to “Merry Monday #187, Valentines & SAS4Kids

  1. Holly Blaskie

    WOW!!! All these cards are fantastic! I’d also like to see the kids face when they open one of them. Great ideas to bring cheer to a kid! I’m loving the plaid fox & I think it’s a great idea to start early on Christmas cards since that time of the year always goes by so quickly.

    • Cyndie R

      I just happened to see your sweet plaid fox card on the Merry Monday challenge and wanted to let you know what a great card you’ve created. Very striking with a wintry, sort of magical feel. Then I saw the SAS4Kids cards and will try to do some of those, what a wonderful idea.

  2. What a wonderful array of unique cards. How lucky the kids are to receive these masterpieces.

  3. Love your Christmas card and the plaid fox! Very nice! Great idea with the kids’ cards. 🙂

  4. I LOVE that green plaid fox! he’s so cool!

  5. Thank you all for your comments! 🙂

  6. What a neat fox. I love it! Very creative!

  7. Jill

    Your Christmas card with the plaid fox is so creative. The Children s’ cards are so amazing too. I always struggle with making those. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Love how you added the plaid element to your fox card Janet. Thanks for sharing at Merry Monday.

Leave a Reply

